Coughlans Live Gift Voucher     
Gig Archive
View What's On   |   Ticketed Events Only |   Archive

Coughlans Live Music Fest 2015- John Blek and The Rats "Sold Out'


Fri 25 Sep 2015
10:00 pm

John Blek & the Rats announce the release of their second album, ‘Borders’.

An album that captures the band shaking off their ramshackle beginnings and committing to tape a collection of new songs with a cohesive sonic richness, that embrace a fuller, fuzzier sound while striking a balance between experimentation and the tunefulness for which they have become known.

This is the sound of John Blek & the Rats exploring their own musical chemistry, a band evolving, breaking down barriers and crossing new ‘Borders’.

Following the critical success of their first album 'Leave Your Love at the Door', the Ireland based alternative folk group were eager to dispel any notions of ' the difficult second album' and decamped to the studio in-between tour dates. They enlisted the services of producer/ engineer Christian Best of Monique Studios in their home town of Cork City, where they wrote, recorded and mixed the tracks for their new album between winter '14 and spring '15.

John explains "Having spent a few years playing together we wanted to progress and evolve our sound with this album. The writing was very intuitive, these songs came together quite quickly, with the band featuring more prominently than previous recordings. Lyrically I wanted to explore the contrasts of light and dark, examine the notions of right and wrong, to disturb the comfortable and comfort the disturbed."

John Blek & the Rats release 'Borders' through We Are Rats Recordings (WARR) in Ireland on Friday Sept 18th.

Having also recently inked a licensing deal the album will be released and distributed on the Tonetoaster Records throughout Germany, Belgium , Netherlands, Austria and Switzerland on Oct 30th .


With his grizzled baritone and ethereal falsetto, O'Rourke's songs chronicle lost love, street-lit avenues and open highways filled with possibility. Two new tracks, the anthemic title track "The Other Side of Now" and the piano led elegy "I'll forget you in the morning" join the critically acclaimed and chart successes "Naivety", "Shining for You" and "Silence" in a unique collection showcasing Jack's unique songwriting, arrangements and vocals.

Gigs & Tickets
Our History
Parties & BBQs..